Center for the Arts, 122 W Broadway Street Hobbs, New Mexico 88240 US             575-397-ARTS (2787)​                                                 Hours of Operation:            Tues-Fri. 11-7pm, Sat. 10-4pm

Stay Connected

Jennifer Garcia is from Albuquerque, New Mexico. After she graduated high school she attended Lamar Community College. There she played volleyball, and graduated with an associates in science. From there she transferred to the USW to continue playing volleyball, and furthering her education. Jennifer is currently majoring in Biology with an emphasis in Pre-Med, and a minor in English with the hopes of one day becoming a Respiratory Therapist. Jennifer enjoys hiking, fishing, camping, and doing yoga in her free time. She has a great appreciation for the arts and throughly enjoy working at The Center for the Arts.

Bethany Freidenbloom

Arts Instructor

Lacey Clutts is from Carlsbad NM, after graduating high school she attended college in Roswell, NM at ENMU-R for a few years and received a certificate as a Vet Assistant, then began to take some basic classes. Later she moved to Hobbs, NM to continue her education at the USW, and played for the volleyball team at the school. Lacey is currently a junior and will be finishing in the fall with a Bachelors in Psychology and a minor in kinesiology. She plans on working at a retirement home with the elderly as an activities director or social worker. Lacey plans on maybe working towards her masters to become a counselor later in the future. She enjoys playing volleyball as much as she can, hanging out with her grandma, and 3 dogs in her free time. Lacey says she loves makeup, and changing her hair color to fun colors, and purple is her favorite. She likes to think of herself as creative, and has loved doing art for as long as she can remember. Lacey has really enjoyed working at The Center for the Arts.

The Lea County Commission for the Arts, Located at the Center for the Arts in downtown Hobbs, is a growing, non-profit, member supported, organization that exists to provide you with information about visual, performing, live music, and the literary arts. The LCCA supports Southwest Symphony, the Hobbs Community Players, Llano Estacado Art Association, Western Heritage Museum, Lea County Museum, and the Center for the Arts.​

The mission of the Lea County Commission for the Arts is to provide leadership, vision, and support to ensure the availability and diversity of the arts in Lea County. The objective of the commission is to promote excellence in the further development of the visual, literary and performing arts in Lea County.

Mission Statement

Andrew Akufo moved from Oklahoma City to Hobbs, NM in 2013. He graduated from the University of Central Oklahoma in 2012 with a BFA in Studio Art. He is the current Executive Director of the Center for the Arts in Hobbs, yet still remains very active exhibiting in numerous solo, group, and juried shows. His work has been featured in publications such as Persimmon Hill, the Lovington LEADER, News-Sun and the Oklahoman among others. He also has work in permanent collections such as the National Western Heritage Cowboy Museum, Owens Arts Place Museum and the University of Central Oklahoma. Andrew has studied art in America, Italy, Hungary, and Slovenia. Represented by galleries in both Oklahoma and Arizona, Andrew continues to work on his various series as well as commission projects.

Bethany Freidenbloom (AKA Mrs. F) moved to Hobbs in 2011 from Midland, TX, where she was a 5th grade teacher. She is now an elementary arts instructor for the Hobbs Municipal Schools, arts instructor at the Center for the Arts and the 21st Century Community Learning Centers site coordinator for the Center for the Arts.  Mrs. F graduated from Texas Tech University with a Bachelor's Degree in Early Childhood Education.  She is also a certified teacher in both Texas and New Mexico.

Lacey Clutts


Jennifer Garcia


  • Paulie Gladden, Director at Large

  • Christene Mitchell, Director at Large​​

Board of Directors

  • Paul Newey, President

  • Dean Parker, Vice-President

  • Jennifer Tovar, Secretary

  • Jessica Tovar, Director at Large

  • Connie Byrd, Director at Large

  • Joyce Walker, Director at Large


Andrew Akufo
Executive Director